by John O’Loughlin of Centretruths Digital Media


Links to the files of which follow the short video and brief text introduction below:-



Dating from 1988-9, this work investigates the significance of the four basic elements, viz. air, fire, water and earth, with regard to a variety of different disciplinary contexts, including science, politics, economics and religion, and then seeks to draw ideological and moral lessons from the apperceived correlations.  Of additional significance in relation to the Elements are the relationships between being and doing, awareness and emotion, mind and brain, nature and artifice, individualism and collectivism.  There is also, within Elemental Spectra, a critique of Arthur Koestler's tripartite theories, as developed in books like The Act of Creation and Janus - A Summing Up, as well as a refutation of the theory underlying his psychological pessimism concerning the dichotomous relationship between what he calls the 'old brain' and the 'new brain', roughly corresponding to the cerebellum and the cerebrum.  In fact, Koestler is no less the principal philosophical target of this work than Schopenhauer was of the previous one (Towards the Supernoumenon), and although I acknowledge my debt to him as an influence on my thought, I was able to move beyond him at this point and accordingly dispense with a number of his theories. – John O’Loughlin.




Aphs. 1-50


Aphs. 51-100


Aphs. 101-150


Aphs. 151-200


Aphs. 201-253


Aphs. 254-285


All files Copyright © 1988-2011 John O’Loughlin




Preview the Lulu eBook prior to purchase using the following link:-

Elemental Spectra


For a complete list of his eBooks on Lulu.com visit John O'Loughlin's

Author Spotlight




ELEMENTAL SPECTRA (PDF-derived paperback version)

John O'Loughlin's Wordpress Space

John O'Loughlin's YouTube channel

Centretruths on Wordpress.com

Centretruths eBook Catalogue



Email: john-oloughlin@centretruths.co.uk





John O’Loughlin was born in Salthill, Galway, the Republic of Ireland, of mixed Irish- and British-born parents in 1952. Following a parental split partly due to his mother's Aldershot origins (her father, a Presbyterian from Donegal, had served in the British Army), he was brought to England by his mother and grandmother (who upon the premature death of her husband had initially returned to Ireland after a lengthy marital absence from Athenry) in the mid-50s and, having had the benefit of private tuition from a Catholic priest, subsequently attended St. Joseph's and St. George's schools in Aldershot, Hants, and, with an enforced change of denomination from Catholic to Protestant in consequence of having been sent to a children's home by his mother upon the death and repatriation of his grandmother, he went on to attend first Barrow Hedges Primary School in Carshalton Beeches, Surrey, and then Carshalton High School for Boys. Upon leaving the latter in 1970 with an assortment of CSE’s (Certificate of Secondary Education) and GCE’s (General Certificate of Education), including history and music, he moved up to London proper and went on, via two short-lived jobs, to work at the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music in Bedford Square, where he eventually became responsible for booking examination venues throughout Britain and Ireland. After a brief flirtation with Redhill Technical College back in Surrey, he returned to his former job in the West End but, due to a combination of personal factors, quit the ABRSM in 1976 and began to pursue a literary vocation which, despite a brief spell as a computer tutor at Hornsey Management Agency within the YMCA in the late '80s and early '90s, he has steadfastly continued with ever since. His novels include Changing Worlds (1976), An Interview Reviewed (1979), Secret Exchanges (1980), Sublimated Relations (1981), and Deceptive Motives (1981). Since the mid-80s Mr O'Loughlin has dedicated himself almost exclusively to philosophy, which he regards as his true literary vocation, and has penned more than seventy titles of a philosophical nature, including Devil and God (1985-6), Towards the Supernoumenon (1987), Philosophical Truth (1991-2) and, more recently, The Best of All Possible Worlds (2008), The Centre of Truth (2009), Insane but not Mad (2011) and Philosophic Flights of Poetic Fancy (2012).


Copyright © 2017 Centretruths Digital Media




John O'Loughlin

Create Your Badge





Bookmark and Share